4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

For those who have bypassed their A/C

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2007, 05:26 PM

For those who have bypassed their A/C

I put a new clutch and pressure plate in my maxima the other day, and upon starting it up the A/C clutch went! Just my luck, right? Anyways...I'm not going to replace the compressor right now so I'd like to know if anybody knows the belt number for the belt I need to bypass it? I work in a shop as a tech but my parts guys had no listing...but I know it can be done. Anybody know? Thanks
Old 05-23-2007, 07:51 PM
sky jumper

first things first -- what makes you think your AC clutch failed?? normally these things don't just fail. double check your fuses and refrigerant charge levels (a low charge will disable the clutch to protect the compressor from damage).

2nd -- if you are able to isolate it to a bad clutch, do NOT replace the entire compressor. you can replace the clutch for far about $80 and not have to worry about doing a complete evac, new receiver/drier, and full recharge. this will save you $300+ and be less hassle. general rule with AC --- always avoid breaking into the freon system if possible.

this write up in the stickies covers everything you need to know to replace the clutch (although the write-up itself is geared toward replacing the pulley bearing, putting on a new clutch is much less work). you can buy a new clutch assembly from the re-builder in Florida mentioned at the end....
http://forums.maxima.org/showpost.ph...4&postcount=50