5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Won't go faster than 20mph

Old 08-09-2012, 01:38 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Won't go faster than 20mph

Hey all. I lurk here whenever I need to diagnose something and now I'm finally creating a thread because I have no idea what's going on.

The symptoms:
-Automatic 2002 Maxima SE won't go faster than 20 mph
-Gear does not shift once I hit 20 mph
-Stepping on the gas at 20 mph is like stepping on the gas while neutral and just increases rpm
-Can shift into reverse
-Can shift into neutral and feel the 'bump' for when gear changes
-Check engine light is NOT on
-No other visible or discernible issues (granted I'm far from a vehicle expert)
-Happened right after changing from Park to Drive at a stoplight
-Weather is pretty hot and this occurred during a drive in hot weather.

I've been reading and there seems to be a lot of discussion with similar symptoms but I can't find a concrete solution.

Anyways, would appreciate any input on what's going on. Thanks for the help in advance.
Old 08-09-2012, 01:40 PM

Mass Air Flow Sensor...

...it's in limp mode, reason for bogging and not allowing for increased acceleration or speed...

...replace it.
Old 08-09-2012, 01:45 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by nismopc
Mass Air Flow Sensor...

...replace it.
Damn. That was easy.

Luckily for me, I already have experience changing this thing since this generation Maxima seems to be known for having problems with the MAF.

Btw, should the sensor be replace with the Bosch generic or something else? The last thing I replaced on this car was the MAF and it was with the Bosch. Is this thing not reliable or something? I'm reading a lot of complaints online about it.

Last edited by damaximanoob; 08-09-2012 at 02:02 PM.
Old 08-09-2012, 02:58 PM

I just replaced mine on monday after 130K of use (assuming the previous ownder didn't change it-218K of use).