7th Generation Maxima (2009-2015) Come in and talk about the 7th generation Maxima

RE-Badging Maxima (but different!)

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2010, 02:07 PM

RE-Badging Maxima (but different!)

Like many on this site, I really grew to hate the MAXIMA letters on the trunk lid. I'm a graphic designer by profession, so I'm admittedly very picky about things like this. I didn't like their font choice (Optima), the size (too large) or the placement. This is especially true if you have the rear spoiler, as it makes the MAXIMA name seem cramped in the space -- and not quite level.

After a great deal of research, I finally found some letters online that I liked, just .75" tall, and a decent bold sans-serif font. From the side, they are slightly eliptical in section -- tapered at the top and bottom, thickest halfway up.

I spent a few days pondering on the best place to put them. One place would be right where the original badge was. I think that with the smaller letters and better font, it would look all right. I know the asymmetrical look of this placement bothered many, and it sort of did me as well. I didn't really feel like I wanted to throw a "3.5L" up on the right to balance it out...

Finally I decided to try BELOW the license plate, on the "lip" of the trunk lid. INFINITI has put their name in a similar location (although license plate was typically down in the bumper), and I've seen Nissan do similar treatment on some vehicles.

I think this looks pretty good -- I considered removing the NISSAN circular badge and putting the new MAXIMA type up there (and even tried it out in Photoshop), but figured I'd try this first. I think the BEST solution would be if Nissan put the MAXIMA name as smaller, "embossed" type, molded into the chrome trim that extends over the license plate. They do this on some INFINITI models, and I think it looks good.

Old 10-02-2010, 02:13 PM