7th Generation Maxima (2009-2015) Come in and talk about the 7th generation Maxima

Oil levels in Maxima's I have been seeing at the dealerships

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2010, 10:14 PM

Oil levels in Maxima's I have been seeing at the dealerships

I have been shopping for a 2009 for the last few weeks. I have noticed that many of the cars have too much oil in them. One car I saw last week had what looked like at least two quarts too much. It was a sales manager's car.

Is the actual number of recommended quarts slightly less than standard and people are just over filling?

Strange...

Thanks.
Old 08-21-2010, 11:45 PM

the 7th Gen takes I think 4.5 quarts, if you put exactly that in the engine then the oil level comes up on the middle of the dip stick, most dealers probably just put 5 in, and that extra half quart comes way above the high mark on the dip stick, making you think it's way overfilled, and when you check the oil it has to sit for like a day, other wise it's just off, every time I check my oil after a change, to see the actual level I check it the following morning, otherwise it's never accurate

from what I have seen oil level really means nothing
Old 08-22-2010, 07:40 AM

Originally Posted by STARR
the 7th Gen takes I think 4.5 quarts, if you put exactly that in the engine then the oil level comes up on the middle of the dip stick, most dealers probably just put 5 in, and that extra half quart comes way above the high mark on the dip stick, making you think it's way overfilled, and when you check the oil it has to sit for like a day, other wise it's just off, every time I check my oil after a change, to see the actual level I check it the following morning, otherwise it's never accurate

This is interesting. I am "old school"; filling to the prescribed volume results in the dip-stick level showing filled. And you are correct, I am unable to hit the "fill" line unless I put in 5 quarts of oil.

When did this change happen?
Old 08-22-2010, 11:48 AM