4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

MAF, TB, IACV, and EGR cleaning for dummies

Old 06-22-2009, 02:03 PM

MAF, TB, IACV, and EGR cleaning for dummies

I cleaned my maf, tb, iacv, and egr guide tube last week after some extensive research here on the org. I felt like none of the threads included directions for a total newb to do everything. Doing everything at the same time makes sense b/c if you're gonna get to the egr, might as well attack everything else while you're at it so here it is. My car is a 1999 Infiniti i30t, your car might vary slightly in terms of hoses, tubes, and plugs.

1st off, what you're gonna need:

Tools:
- 3/4 racket
- 8, 10 socket wrenches
- 3" and 6" socket extensions
- 12mm deep socket
- 12mm box end wrench (for getting at lower rear nut of egr guide tube
- Flat screwdriver
- Pliers
- paperclips - the type that is in an "X" since they're the biggest
- Large phillips screwdriver
- Hacksaw blade

Consumables:
- Lower EGR guide tube gasket part # 14722-38u02 $5.86 (Connell Nissan prob rip me off)
- Upper EGR guide tube gasket part # 14722-38u01 $3.75 (@OC Nissan in Garden Grove)
- IACV gasket part # 23785-AD100 $3.88
- TB gasket part # 16175-31u01 $3.65

What they look like

The brush is a heater chute cleaner, but I didn't know the EGR guide tube was only the size of a finger

here's a picture of the engine bay labelled for future reference

Steps - airbox:
- use 10mm box ends to remove Neg battery terminal and then positive
- disconnect MAF
- detach hoses on airbox (next to the "MAF sensor" label in pic)
- Undo the 4 clips holding the box w/ the air filter not shown in pic
- use pliers to slide airbox hose clamps off - squeeze them all the way will make them slide a lot easier
- Pull of the 2 big hose and a small hose (tubing really)
- Loosen the big hose clamp next to the throttle body
- Lift airbox out

It should look like this: