6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

New owner !

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2012, 04:26 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

New owner !

Hi Guys,

I'm new to Nissan, this is my first Nissan maxima. Looking forward in knowing this brand as i love what i see so far.

I bough a 2004 maxima as a daily beater. I've been a BMW man for a while now, but i just got a new job that need a 40 miles commute every day, and i'm not going to rack this mileage on my 2011 M3, hence the maxima.

Its a 2004 with 120k miles. Car was meticulously maintained at the dealer all its life. One previous owner with a very long daily commute. Car is in mint condition.

I'm not sure if the one i got is the sport package or luxury pacakage. I have the following options:

18 rims, leather interior, dual sun roof, Bose sound system, heated seats, screen but no Nav ...

The car come with a one year power train warranty, but i need to do a full tune up. I do most of the DIYs, and i love working/spending time on cars.

So what should i look for ?

I was thinking maybe start with Belts, convert to syntactic engine oil, filters ........ Please free to add.

I live in canada, what is the best website to buy parts from ?

What is the best exhaust for this car ? since it has the same engine the 350 has, how can i have a similar sound ?

One more questions, does the Bose stereo play's mp3 cd ?

Thanks guys, your inputs are very much appreciated.
Old 03-04-2012, 07:20 PM

Welcome to the family. You bought a Max as a daily beater? You should've got an Atima for your application. lol
Old 03-04-2012, 08:51 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by LiquidEliteMax
Welcome to the family. You bought a Max as a daily beater? You should've got an Atima for your application. lol
I've always loved the 6th Gen Maxima. The daily beater is the excuse part to buy the car
Old 03-05-2012, 10:18 AM