6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

jumpstart

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2007, 11:00 AM

jumpstart

hey guys! How do you connect the jumper cables to your car? I did what the manual insturcted (connect the (+) to the ohter battery's (+) and the (-) of the other battery to a body ground in my max) but it didnt work. I asked a few friends around and they said to conect the other battery's (-) to my battery's (-), and it worked. Any ideas how this happened? Comments? Thanks
Old 06-20-2007, 11:14 AM

Ive heard that if you connect the + to + and the - to - its could fry your CPU cause instead of getting 12v of juice it gets 24v, now im not a mechanic so im not sure if this is true or not. Did you have the - hooked up to a good ground point? That would be the only reason i could think of why it didnt work.
Old 06-20-2007, 11:23 AM

I hooked the (-) to metal bolt in the engine bay. how would u know that the CPU is fried?
Old 06-20-2007, 12:02 PM

Originally Posted by joemax1
I hooked the (-) to metal bolt in the engine bay. how would u know that the CPU is fried?

The car wouldn't run haha
Old 06-20-2007, 01:30 PM

Originally Posted by FrostMaxima
The car wouldn't run haha
hahaha...funny! but seriously, my car actually started and is running now. But I was just wondering if I damaged anything by connecting the (-) of both batteries while jump starting. any other VALID comments? thanks guys!
Old 06-20-2007, 04:12 PM
dla
Supporting Maxima.org Member

hey guys! How do you connect the jumper cables to your car? I did what the manual insturcted (connect the (+) to the ohter battery's (+) and the (-) of the other battery to a body ground in my max) but it didnt work. I asked a few friends around and they said to conect the other battery's (-) to my battery's (-), and it worked. Any ideas how this happened? Comments? Thanks
I'm unclear as to what vehicle needed the jumped?