3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

The acceleration/shifting problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2008, 10:58 AM
White_Shadow

The acceleration/shifting problem

Here I go again...

I've been thinking a lot of your advice/opinions (from TCU thread) and I definitely agree with you on many things, it's just a common sense: I need a new Mechanic.

so before asking for advice from you, please allow me to clear something up: First I live on apartment complex, means no garage, not allowed to work on the car unless is just plug-in a sensor or changing a hose, a 20-30 minute thing.

Second, my knowledge have seen some improvements but still I'm not an expert or don't have even 10% the experience most of you guys have.

So, that being said, I was planning to post an ad looking for a Maxima Mechanic around South CA, but I'm also thinking just walk in a few shops and ask how much they will charge to take a look at my car, but before doing so (walk-in blindly into a shop) I would like to hear your opinion/advice.

I think I can't change inhibitor switch (which is bad for sure) because mechanic said he have to lift the car and drop the tranny to replace inhib sw because if fits sideways, is that true? or is BS too?

I know that has nothing to do with the acceleration/shifting issue but at least I would like to get the self diagnostic running.

based on your experience, what could be causing my problem? I mean I have no power at takeoff, but once I get to third gear the car seems to pickup speed very easily, sometimes (if I floor it) tranny stays on 2nd gear for too long (it even doesn't shift) however if I don't floor it I can feel the shift at about 4-4.5k rpm that's from 2nd to 3rd. is this a tranny problem for sure? or engine? please remember I've changed (well the mechanic) TPS, EGR, IACV, and no help.