5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Approaching the end

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2018, 09:56 AM

Approaching the end

Hey all,

Maxine I think is winding down her useful life. Economy is not great. The idle issue remains despite 2 IACVs and 1 ECU purchase. Passenger side CV needs replaced. Motor still runs sound, but is just shy of 300k. I bought at 95k and have not changed the clutch, so assuming that wasn't done in the first 95k, that has to be wearing down eventually too. Passenger side window motor is dying. Etc. More things than I can address with the time I have.

Unfortunately I think finding another 5th gen might be difficult. I am a student so can't really take a long trip to drive one back. While that would be my ideal purchase, a 5th gen that I could eventually move all my parts to, I am thinking it might be time to get off the Maxima train after three of them

I definitely want to stick with Nissan though, and standard trans is a must. There is a std. 2006 Sentra SE-R Spec-V w/ 120k nearby, so was wondering if anyone could comment on them? Long term reliability, frequent problems, things like that. The one thing that scares me is I know what to expect with a 4th or 5th gen max, but don't have the same knowledge about any other car.
Old 02-13-2018, 06:01 PM

ffcbairn,
Sorry to hear this but also happy to see that you made it to 300k. I have an 02 SE Maxima in manual with about 105k and would be very happy to see this car to +200k.
Unfortunately the list of Japanese sedans in manual is shrinking every year. Good luck finding your next vehicle.
Old 02-13-2018, 10:41 PM

2007-2008 g35 sedan with a 6 speed. If you can find one, awesome cars. G37 sedan with a 6 speed is a bit expensive compared, but also very nice.
Old 02-14-2018, 12:54 AM
Bad *** Newb

Originally Posted by ffcbairn
Hey all,