5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Should I do it...again..?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2013, 01:40 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Should I do it...again..?

Hey guys. I used to have an '02 Sterling Mist SE that I made the mistake of selling back in early 2008. I was a recent college grad and thought I needed something newer and better, so I bought a demo 2007 Murano. Had that for just over 2 years (didn't like the CVT or car payments), then bought my dad's 2005 Titan. That was a great truck, powerful, reliable, and fun, but being a single 28 year-old guy living back in NJ, having a pickup is not cool. Also it sucked on gas. So I sold the Titan back in June, and I have been looking for cars since then. Almost bought a few new cars, but something held me back. Now I'm looking for something old and fun that I can get for under $6 or $7k. I had some issues with the Max when I had it, but I had a lot of fun with that car, too. The thought just crossed my mind this morning...should I really buy the same car I had almost 10 years ago? I've found a few good examples around 100k miles and under $6,500.00. I know it will probably burn a little oil between fill-ups and is not the best on gas, but there's just some allure to this car. Maybe it's because I already had the experience and know a lot about the cars. Would you go back and do it again?
Old 08-01-2013, 01:49 PM
dot dot dot ...

Mine has been trouble free since I've owned it, sans 1 MAF at 90k that I bought used on here for 55$. 133k now.

You might be lucky and get a non oil burner like me. I add about half a quart every 3k miles.

If I was looking for something outright, no payment, I would definitely look at this car. I actually am in fact and am looking at an MT of some sort.

6MT's actually do get good MPG's even by today's standards, and considering the power output. Also my 4AT gets 27 highway.