5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Passenger side window problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2012, 02:43 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Passenger side window problem

I cannot get my passenger window to roll down. I took off the door panel to see if I can spot the problem but didn't notice anything mechanically wrong with it. While playing with the passenger side switch, I noticed that if I try to roll it up(even though its already at its limit), I can hear it trying to move up. However, if I try to roll down, I don't hear anything.

I'm no expert but my guess is that the motor can't be the culprit if it tries to roll up. I'm not sure what else it could be except after looking on the forums here, I guess that the main switch can also be a probable cause though my symptoms differ somewhat from the others. Has anyone else come across this issue and what did you end up doing to fix your problem? Thanks in advance.
Old 05-20-2012, 03:53 PM

I had window motor / harness and plug problems in my 5th Gen..long story short I searched and searched and searched...ended up going to a Nissan dealership and the answer was so obvious it made me feel dumb. While I cannot give you an answer to your question directly..i can say that as a last resort if it starts to irritate you...take it to a dealer... It can't hurt!
Old 05-20-2012, 03:57 PM

I would replace the motor/regulator and master switch before I ever brought my car to the dealership. Is it just your passenger window? Can you roll it down with the master switch? Does your master switch roll down everything else normal? Did this happeb suddenly or did it show slow symptoms that lead to total failure?
Old 05-20-2012, 04:15 PM

Not sure I would bring my car to the dealer for a window unless, like 2damax said, the regulator and switch had been replaced.