5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

octane rating higher than 91 bad too?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2009, 09:28 AM

octane rating higher than 91 bad too?

Our cars call for 91. I've been using 93 faithfully, and over the past few months I'm one of those guys who's experienced pre-ignition BS. Did some chevron treatments, changed plugs and air filter and it went away 95%. Lately it started coming back a little bit. I filled up with 91 for the first time and its quieted back to 95% gone. Is 93 as bad as 87, since our cars want 91???
Old 10-06-2009, 09:40 AM

I am no expert but I don't think 93 would do any damage because I think it says to use at least 91. I've been running 93 for a while with no problem, actually back when gas was really expensive I was using 89 and the only thing that happened was that my gas mileage went down.

I don't know if this is stupid question but, did you try the fuel filter?
Old 10-06-2009, 09:58 AM

doesnt make much sense..or does it..lol...im interested in some smarter responses..heres my initial response..maybe for some reason the higher octane has a hard time igniting.. which would go along with the theory if you ran race fuel stock..the car would not be able to properly burn it in its stock state...but im not sure if the 2* octane difference is really THAT big of a difference...such as comparing 91/93 vs 104/105

ive always run 93... ill run a tank of 91 for the fun of it next week and see if theres any difference..who knows..

edit:: brand has ALOT to do with it in terms of their detergants and other additives .. example--local no name 93 octane.. vs ..shell 91 octane.... i would take the shell 91...

Last edited by mist max2000; 10-06-2009 at 10:08 AM.
Old 10-06-2009, 11:15 AM
Don't you know who I am?

Originally Posted by Maury