5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Boss Chen coilovers review

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2006, 06:29 PM
Driving is the next best thing

Boss Chen coilovers review

Well, I’ve been riding on them for about 3 months. During those 3 months I drove the car in NYC, took it to 2 autocross events and 2 long distance road trips with 4 people in the car.

Pros:

- Night and day handling difference. (I had stock SE suspension with RSB before)

- Tolerable ride when set for maximum handling, and near stock ride when set for a better ride.

- Solid external design. (All locking collars are very strong and reliable)

Cons:

- Not ideal shock valving (from performance standpoint)

- ABS line can not be secured without electric tape or zip-ties.

Now details:

Handling:

During normal driving the car feels nice and sporty. Body roll is reduced to minimum and steering feels very responsive. At high speed the car feels stable and predictable, however, sometimes you do notice that the shocks are not valved solely for performance. (will be discussed later)

At the limit handling – the car feels much more predictable and easier to control. Before I felt confident driving the car at it’s absolute limit only under 50 mph. Now it’s about 80 -90 mph.

Understeer/oversteer balance – with equal front/rear tire pressure the car understeers when going through low speed corners. At medium and high speed corners the car might slowly start oversteering in the mid-corner.

When I set my front pressure to 43 and rear to 48 the car oversteered at medium and high speed corners and understeered at low speed corners. However, with this setup I could make the car oversteer in virtually every corner by combining trail braking with faint.

Ride quality: