5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

5th Gen "I AM NEW HERE BUT HAVE A QUESTION" thread

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2011, 07:00 AM

Hey again, just wanna say the org is awsome. I'm almost at 15 posts, so I got another one for this thread. My max runs pretty good for the most part, but once it warms up at idle there's a bit of a shake and it sometimes it feels considerably less powerful. I'm not sure if both issues would be tied together or not, bu help on either issue is much appreciated. Thanks again
Old 05-19-2011, 07:58 AM
Suspension Yoda

^^ Any codes/SES lights?
Old 05-19-2011, 09:05 AM

No lights are on, but also I'm kinda new to this so Im not sure if a light will always cone on if it throws a code? I haven't had it checked but will if you say it could throw one without a light coming on I will.
Old 05-19-2011, 11:25 AM

Originally Posted by Brl24
No lights are on, but also I'm kinda new to this so Im not sure if a light will always cone on if it throws a code? I haven't had it checked but will if you say it could throw one without a light coming on I will.
A knock sensor code, P0325 (03 04), is one of several codes that will not turn on the SES light. A bad knock sensor will cause the engine timing to be retarded and this results in downgraded performance.
Old 05-19-2011, 02:01 PM

Ok thanks I'll give it a try, you guys think this may cause it to perform inconsistantly. Also for any one who is reading the Haynes Fsm sucks for 5th gens. All the f***ing pics are 4th gen. Waste of $30
Old 05-19-2011, 02:47 PM
dot dot dot ...

Originally Posted by Brl24
Ok thanks I'll give it a try, you guys think this may cause it to perform inconsistantly. Also for any one who is reading the Haynes Fsm sucks for 5th gens. All the f***ing pics are 4th gen. Waste of $30
Yeah we knew that.

This one is free:

http://www.nicoclub.com/FSM/maxima/
Old 05-19-2011, 06:17 PM