5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

How hard is it to change my own spark plugs?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2003, 07:47 AM

How hard is it to change my own spark plugs?

I've never done it before, but I want to try. Anybody know anything? What tools do I need?
Old 12-09-2003, 08:11 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

If your 2K1 is anything like a 2K, it shouldn't be too bad (I honestly haven't touched mine yet, but I intend to sometime soon)

You'll want a long 1/2"-drive extension (e.g. 1-foot-long might do the trick), a Spark Plug Socket for 5/8"-wide spark plugs (for 1/2"-drive sockets), and a 1/2"-drive ratchet (a torque wrench would be even better, as you can be more precise when tightening the plugs)

I believe you'll also need a small ratchet/socket/extension for the ignition coil's mounting bolt (i.e. a 3/8"-drive ratchet, extension and suitable socket... not sure what the size is).
A magnetic pickup tool is also good (those are cheap at Autozone/Advance Auto/NAPA/etc.)
Also, anti-seize compound is great on the spark plug's threads, so it doesn't seize up (makes it easier to remove later on)

The procedure should involve removing the coils first (disconnect the wiring harness from the coil, remove the mounting bolt, pull the coil off), then remove the spark plug (get the ratchet/extension/spark plug socket assembly ready, put it over the spark plug, loosen it up, then use the magnetic pickup tool to pull it out).

Installing them involves putting a little anti-seize on the threads of the spark plug, putting the spark plug in its hole, HAND-tightening it, then torqueing it down to around 15-20 ft/lbs (I think?), or something like 1/4-turn of a ratchet... you don't want it to be TOO tight.