5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Couldnt find a good anwser, clutch stuff.

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2003, 10:09 PM

Couldnt find a good anwser, clutch stuff.

I just got the 03 6spd, and I am new to driving stick, and I kno everyone is gonna say search but I couldnt find what I was looking for really, but know how to use the clutch. What is over using the clutch? I kno the difference bewteen mis shifting etc, but thats all engine mostly reving over rpm limit, but like what is bad for the clutch? I push it all the way in and shift and let out completely for 2nd gear and higher. Reverse is like first, but I use the clutch some to prevent from going to far or stalling. First gear seems like, I let the clutch all the way out almost and press the gas. I was doing like half way with the clutch and reving it to like 2-3 rpm range to get it going,(not anymore tho because I realized the clutch lets out towards me more) Was that ALOT of stress on the clutch or just using it more in a sence. Is it tough to burn out the clutch fast with what I WAS doing? Thanks again. Happy to be aboard this boat

Sterling

20/m/mass
Old 03-06-2003, 11:14 PM

Re: Couldnt find a good anwser, clutch stuff.

Originally posted by Sterling