4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

brown color coolant reservoir

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2010, 08:47 PM

brown color coolant reservoir

i have been doing drain/fill every year for a few years. now, i am seeing orange color coolant in the coolant reservoir. anyone is experiencing this?
Old 08-13-2010, 08:50 PM

are you using dexcool?
Old 08-13-2010, 08:54 PM

Originally Posted by 99greddymax
are you using dexcool?
+1. Also, are you doing these drain/fills yourself or a mechanic is doing this?? If he is and using dexcool, get the hell outta there ASAP!
Old 08-13-2010, 09:00 PM

hey! i did a flush with dexcool.. no problems with it.
Old 08-13-2010, 09:07 PM

hey! i did a flush with dexcool.. no problems with it.
You used it to flush only or are you also using it to cool engine as well??
Old 08-13-2010, 09:17 PM

Originally Posted by Trini Boom
You used it to flush only or are you also using it to cool engine as well??

i did a complete flush with dex cool.. no more green stuff. and yes dexcool is cooling my vq.
Old 08-13-2010, 09:20 PM

Rust?
Old 08-13-2010, 09:23 PM

wtf.. does aluminum "rust"? i dont think so..
Old 08-13-2010, 09:26 PM
"I'm just sayin'..."

Is the only metal your coolant passes through aluminum?
Old 08-13-2010, 09:32 PM

Originally Posted by nelledge
Is the only metal your coolant passes through aluminum?
yes im pretty sure its all aluminum..
Old 08-13-2010, 09:34 PM

no flush only drain/fill for the past 5 to 6 years. i am not using dexcool. i have been using autozone 50/50 premix.
Old 08-13-2010, 09:36 PM

some cheap aftermarket waterpumps dont have aluminum impellers..I was just tossn that out there..its rust or dexcool..
Old 08-13-2010, 09:37 PM

is it milky at all
Old 08-13-2010, 10:13 PM

i am not so sure. i will need to check it in the morning.

Originally Posted by cjlgarage
is it milky at all
Old 08-14-2010, 07:44 AM