4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Comprehensive Manual (5spd) Trans Rebuild - Write up (with pix)

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2008, 03:07 PM
Whatchyou say?

Comprehensive Manual (5spd) Trans Rebuild - Write up (with pix)

Nissan Maxima 5spd Transmission Write Up - 4th Generation (95-99)
By Jim Bethel (JtzMax on Maxima.org)

Ok, first I need to mention that I will try to add more pictures, so there may be edits in the near future. Also, can a mod please PLEASE please make this a sticky! I spent a lot of time doing this to try to help others, so I hope that it will!

I decided to do a write up for those who are considering doing a rebuild on the Maxima 5spd transmission. First I must say, this is not a job for a beginer in any way shape or form. I am not a professional mechanic but I have been working on cars since I was able to hold a wrench. I must give credit to Maxima.org and to Motorvate, for this wouldn't ever have been possible for me to do without their help. Many thanks!