4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Clutch replacement - questions for those who have done it themselves

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2006, 08:05 AM
Maximaler Experte

Clutch replacement - questions for those who have done it themselves

Hey all,

I was looking that MOTORVATE's clutch replacement how-to. It seems that I'll need to remove both drive axles, cv boots, just to remove the tranny. I have never done this kind of work before but I'm curious as to how long it'll take me if I do decide to go this alone.

Here is his write-up to remove the tranny:
- Remove the battery, air filter, mass air flow (MAF) sensor and everything else up to the throttle body.
- Drain the gear oil from the transmission.
- Remove the starter, speedometer sensor, clutch slave cylinder, front exhaust, and crankshaft position sensor.
- Disconnect the gear position switch, and ground wire on the transmission.
- Remove the crankshaft position sensor, and BOTH drive axles.
- Support the front of the engine, and remove the front and rear motor mount as one piece.
- carefully remove the transmission mount.
- Remove all transmission bolts except for one at the top. Crawl under the car, remove the last bolt, and carefully lower the transmission on to your chest.
- follow steps for clutch removal and installation

What worries me is the removal of the drive axles. I have never taken one off but I'm curious, how long will all this will take I really only have evenings and I don't want to frack things up and make them worse by working on a cold car.

How long will all this take me?
Old 12-27-2006, 08:44 AM
Armed and Dangerous

Difficult to say. If the passenger side axle is rusted to the support bracket, prepare for a long battle. If not, pulling both axles can take less than an hour.
Old 12-27-2006, 08:49 AM