4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Alternator going?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2005, 06:32 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Alternator going?

I've got a bunch of problems with my new 99 GLE. the first is the hard shifting (addressed in another post). . .second is the starter (takes a few seconds to turn over, then makes a rubbing noise for a few more seconds before acting normal) and the THIRD (subject of this post) is a noise that i didn't notice before. It kind of hums. Now, i'm not good at describing noises (think of the guy in the mechanic's shop making noises with his mouth) but it's a hum not unlike when your power steering needs fluid and you're turning the wheel. It's not that loud, and it's a little higher in pitch (although not a squeel). Friday it increased with RPMs, and today i didn not notice it. (noticed the noise when i started it, but i think it was less, and i couldn't hear it while driving)

I had the car once overed by my truested mechanic on wednesday, and he didn't mention anything major, so i have to assume it happened between wednesday and friday.

Weird right?

-James
Old 01-22-2005, 08:57 PM

anybody have any idea on this? it doesn't sound like a belt squealing. . .it sounds more like something is being overworked. that's why i'm thinking maybe it's the alternator.
Old 01-22-2005, 09:02 PM

If there is a slow turnover, it could be the alternator, especially you feel that there's a strain when starting. I'm assuming that you have a good battery.
Old 01-23-2005, 03:22 AM