3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

wheres the best place to run amp wiring

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2003, 09:09 PM

wheres the best place to run amp wiring

im bout to do an amp setup in my car, i was wondering where the best place would be to run the wiring. i was thinkin about just running throught the firewall for the battery, and under the carpet for the amp. i bought a fosgate wiring kit, so i should have good length to do that. i was thinking about runnin my rca jacks through there too. if my amp has a speaker level control built in do i still need to wire it up with that.

im really new to this, so if anyone can help, id really appreciate it. i do have an aftermarket hu with preouts. i really dont have a clue what im doing.

thanks in advance
Old 12-14-2003, 09:13 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

power wire on left, rcas on right side of car, both under the carpet

thats how mine was setup
Old 12-14-2003, 09:14 PM

it is easier to run the wires under the bottom door trim back
Old 12-14-2003, 09:21 PM

i ran mine under the driver side door trim, then under the rear seat into the trunk
Old 12-14-2003, 09:36 PM

i was gonna do that, im still very confused, surfing around trying to find a good how-to site for that stuff.
Old 12-14-2003, 10:01 PM

use the hood release cable gromet for the power, its on the drivers side.

power left, signal right.
you should not have to use a drill at all if done right.
Old 12-14-2003, 10:12 PM

aight, sounds good. my friend and i were gonna do it tonight, but it was too cold. if i still have the bose amps hooked up, do i still have to run the remote amp turnon wire to my hu, or can i just hotwire it into one of the amps. i used the modulator harness from crutchfield that was made for our maxes.
Old 12-14-2003, 11:23 PM
OG Maxima.org Member

Originally Posted by harrymay